Awarded: 1946

Blazon: In front of a double-armed Cross Gules a Quiver Or of Arrows flighted Azure and strapped of the second and a Torch Or enflamed Gules in saltire

Link: The cross represents the free French students that were taught at the school, that teaching symbolised by the torch with the quiver of arrows alluding to flight

Motto: Latin: Experientia docet – Experience teaches

History: Formed as No 6 Elementary and Reserve Flying Training School at Sywell on 10 June 1935; renamed No 6 Elementary Flying Training School on 3 September 1939 before being re-designated No 6 Reserve Flying Training School on 12 May 1947, finally disbanding on 31 March 1953

Commissioned by the Trustees of Sywell Aviation Museum in Memory of those who served with No 6 EFTS during the Second World War